Broad Street Independent Chapel - Reading.

This afternoon we cycled along the river path into town, motivated mostly by the arrival of some vouchers which entitled us to free cake and a drink in John Lewis! (The Carrot Cake was superb!) However, it was a good cycle ride. This building is a former chapel, parts of which date from 1707, although the frontage was added in 1892. I have struggled to find much more information about it. Although I have lived in Reading all my life I cannot ever remember it being used as a church. In part I 'm sure because there are so many other churches in Reading and it is in what is now the main shopping street. It is now a bookshop. Although I find it sad that it is no longer used for a church, it has been restored and it is better that people can see it rather than being left to decay.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.