Life's tangled skein

By atp

Closing Ceremony Rehearsals

I had thought that my contributions to the Glasgow 2014 Commonwealth Games were complete, but then I got an email asking if I would be able to help out with the closing ceremony. Would I be willing to pretend to be an athlete for the first dress rehearsal of the closing ceremony?

Oh yes, I certainly would!

And that is how I came to be back at Bellahouston Academy, using my accreditation and pass for what I am sure - this time - will be the final occasion. And how I found myself to be in a tent! And how I came to be very wet!

We were very lucky with the weather throughout our rehearsals; it looks as if the closing ceremony participants were not quite so fortunate. The rain hammered down for a while (you can see it against the sandstone house on the left of the picture) and we all got soaked, in spite of the ponchos that were handed out to us.

But that didn't dampen our spirits; we all had a great time and I am sure that the closing ceremony is going to be wonderful!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.