Marlytyz

By Marlytyz

Piano Man

I had arranged to go to London for a reunion with colleagues with whom I had worked for over 20 years. I was slightly worried that I wouldn't recognise them as it had been a while since we had last caught up but I knew I would be able to wing it and nod and smile until recognition kicked in.
I had even bought myself a new dress and shoes, as though I was going to a wedding.
Just as I was leaving the rental house I saw my other half's stricken face staring at me through the door. It turned out he had scraped my new car along a lamp post and was wedged very firmly there unable to move forwards or backwards. He tried to involve me in knocking on a neighbour's door for assistance in moving their car but I firmly declined and went on my way. No blame I kept muttering as I walked down the street.

The reunion was fun and I couldn't believe how good everyone looked.
When someone spotted the camera, I was designated as the official photographer. Well, the light was terrible, I didn't have a tripod, and, even worse, I had forgotten I had a polariser on my lens which, of course, darkened the images even more. The upshot of course was that they were certainly not my best offerings, Very embarrassing.

When I arrived home at about 8.30 I was met by Ken standing in the road. My heart missed a beat. He had locked himself out of the house. We phoned our friend who we are renting the house from who told us there was only one set of keys. We finally resorted to knocking on the next door neighbours' door for assistance. They didn't answer for ages then both came to the door in their dressing gowns!!!! Oh dear. Husband borrowed a ladder and jumped the fence. Luckily, he had left the back door open so we were in.

Quite glad to get that day over with. The image is of the piano at Brighton Station which has a notice inviting passers by to play. I think he was playing "Things Can Only Get Better "- https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Dl-ai9HuR60

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.