CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Jaine Rose at Wool against Weapons day Aldermaston

They did it! The Wool against Weapons knitters all over the world not only knitted a 7 mile pink woollen scarf, but it was also brought to and linked Aldermaston with Burghfield as imagined by Jaine Rose two years ago. What an achievement.

Here is a five minute video telling the story of the day, by Zoe Broughton.

Woodpeckers and I joined the two coaches going from Stroud, Jaine's home town, and once arrived we headed in different directions. I was there to help film the event, which I won't describe again, (check it out here on the Wool against Weapons website), whilst Helena was there to link up the first mile of the scarf which was the responsibility of the Stroud group. Each of the seven miles was coordinated by different groups, so unfortunately we didn't get to see the whole thing.

There is however this 40 seconds of hi-speed video showing the whole seven miles of scarf along the roads.

Against all the forecasts the weather stayed not only good, but sunny. Fun was had, amazing people from all over the country met and shared in the experience and a community statement was made about how people feel about the horrendous waste of money (estimated at more than £80 billion and rising) on the next generation of Trident nuclear missiles.

There was a brief visit by a BBC news film crew, and I met a freelance photographer who sensed an opportunity, although arriving only at the end of the day. But tas usual that was the extent of the publicity. Three of us from Stroud shot video and will assemble a video story, which will be linked to on Stroud Community TV in a few days time. CND organised a video camera team to make a story and I ended up giving all my footage to the camerawoman wo wanted to edit something overnight. I hope I get it back!

I am rather drained now and haven't much more to add. Except to say that Jaine Rose thought of doing this two years ago, set the process rolling and has been the pivot around which countless people have been enabled to get involved and contribute, allowing them to have their say about the issues. She has done it with such good spirit, demonstrated commitment and inspired us all while always being able to respond personally to everyone. She has been a beacon to me and I'm sure many others.

I have linked to the WAW website and do go there to see what can be done against all the odds.

This picture is of Jaine at the wire fence of Aldermaston Weapons Establishment, holding a section of the wool sent from Europe. There were some Dutch people who had come to the event with their own contributions to the scarf, and this may be part of that.
I have put more of my still pictures in a Flickr gallery here, and when the video is finished I will post a link to it in one of my later blips.

As a postscript, I should mention a conversation I had with some police. They said that in fifteen years of policing demonstrations of all sorts in many places, this was the most moving and most effective that they had seen and were very impressed with the way that people had managed to have their say!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.