LadyFindhorn

By LadyFindhorn

A Day out at the Seaside

With his Lordship being up the hills and the thought of sliding about on two wheels on icy roads in West Lothian abhorrent, I took myself off to North Berwick on the bus. My bus of choice on the way there was the X5 which has a limited stopping policy. It is fascinating as I've said before to see glimpses of other people's lives in the villages we passed through, Wallyford, Prestonpans, Longniddry, Gullane, Dirleton and finally North Berwick. I did entertain the thought of breaking my journey to see if SooB had been baking, but decided to stay put on the bus.

North Berwick was strangely quiet. Usually it's a bustling place - tourists, day trippers, locals and cars that queue to pass through the narrow High Street. Today however, it was so cold I think everyone with any sense had elected to stay home. The temperature was so low and wind chill so fierce, that my camera was particularly sluggish as were my operating fingers. I managed to take about 100 images and have only kept 4. The other 96 were of bleached out seagulls and bad wave shots (I always managed to miss the crash against the rocks effect).
By the time I got back home, I was definitely hypothermic, but a few cups of tea later combined with a nice Twix chocolate bar, things improved.

Of the 4 photos I kept, this is the one I liked best because of the solid blocks of colour in the sea, the wall and the hull of the boat, which was propped up in the car parking area above the harbour. The seagull, I think, was too frozen to move and stayed in that position through out at least 50 of my shots.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.