Cycle race

I'm not really interested in cycling but I did watch the Prudential Ride London - Surrey on TV this afternoon because the race was run through lanes that I know very well. It was particularly exciting to see the views from the helicopter. The morning ride in which 22,000 people took part was beset by torrential rain but apparently they enjoyed it! The forecast for the day was dire but luckily the storm was far removed from the much heralded remnant of Hurricane Bertha. By the time the afternoon race started the rain had cleared away and Surrey looked good in the sunshine.
The map shows the routes of the various races around Surrey and indicates the road closures. We live right in the middle of the map so we have been pretty well shut in since 5am when the roads were closed. But it was a splendid event and I am sorry I have been moaning about the inconvenience!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.