Marlytyz

By Marlytyz

Late summer flowers

As expected, we woke to torrential rain this morning. Despite the accuracy of the forecast it was still a bit of a shock as we had become quite used to hot summer days. We therefore didn't get over to the new house until the afternoon as it is not exactly pleasant to spend a day in a space resembling a construction site. They have taken out the kitchen and smashed up the floor in that area too so any semblance of normality has gone. I keep repeating my favourite cliche "you can't make an omelette without smashing eggs," In this case though I would love any food that was cooked in an oven or even a microwave.

OK, I am just going for the sympathy vote as those of you with good memories will know that we do have a more than adequate kitchen in the house we are renting. I just don't feel like cooking at the moment.

We have spent the day looking at Farrow and Ball colour charts and, very unimaginatively, nearly went for" pure white" throughout the house. We have now decided on "Elephant's Breath." . I am worried it may be too dark, but I have lost the will to live so have just closed my eyes and stabbed a finger at the colour chart.

I took this image following our picnic tea in the garden today. I usually associate these flowers, which I believe are rudbeckia, with Autumn.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.