Vintage carpet beater

We drove from Belgium to Holland in the pouring rain today. I did take pictures of the lack of sight , the spray of the traffic and the dark clouds, but that didn't look very inspiring. Found this vintage tool of the Dutch housewife in the garage in Holland. We don't have any carpets to beat, and please know that I did add the textured craquele background. Our garage wall is not quite that weathered yet, though the holes are indeed there.

For those of you wanting to experiment with textured backgrounds, the secret of mixing and matching is in using different blending modes and different grades of opacity. If blending modes don't help then the way to add a texture as background is to use the texture as a layer mask.

Thanks very much for your comments and stars on yesterday's rose and its colour. I didn't think of salmon, peach or blush, because I felt the colour of the rose has too much pink in it for those three. If I look at this chart of orange tones I think light coral comes closest. But colour is indeed something that I'm guessing we all see different :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.