Littlepat

By Littlepat

Calm before the storm

So I have set this journal up to keep an online diary of the next few months of my life. My husband and I have decided to try to add to our family. We have what I call a 2.1 family, 2 step kids through marriage and one child from our marriage.

It's been a big decision to try for another child due to me not having the best pregnancy last time. Hip problems by 3.5. Months, crutches from 4 months due to SPD, in a minor bus crash at 5months, 6 months hospitalised due to my enlarged heart and baby born at end of very eventful induced delivery 2 weeks past due date. Baby is fine but I had a bit of a scare with blood pressure dropping, temperature spiking and the diamorphine and epidural not working properly. I may go in to that on day, it wasn't the best but the result was the best day of my life.

You may ask why I want to put myself at risk I have 3 lovely healthy children. Well, I am an only child and swore when I was young I wanted more than one child. So after the okay from the doc we are letting nature take its course. I was very lucky to have a sleeping baby, and I have loved the last 2 years. Not having another or at least trying would be a life long regret I fear. So let's go!

So where are we, well 3 weeks in and my system is just about adjusting to no "fake" hormones controlling it. I had the contraceptive implant removed and have come of the pill, my cycle is very regular and strong, hence 2 types of hormones. I have feel nausea at meal times but I am starving the rest of the time. Some may say oh are your pregnant, eh don't think so. This is always the precursor to a really bad period, I have several years of experience of these. So I eat when I am hungry, small portions of what my body asks, alcohol being avoided. Even if that means snacking of nked fruit bars during the night.

Calm before the storm? Well when we were trying for our first child it took 4 months. My age is against me, nearer 40 than I would like. So let's see what the weather brings.

Wish us luck, we will need it. Please feel free to join us on this journey, I won't write this much or everyday I promise. It's nice to have somewhere to let my thoughts go.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.