Rebuilding

By RadioGirl

A Good Read

We had so much rain last night and during today that my road was flooded - yes, even though it's on the side of a hill. Not wishing to waterlog the car only days after its annual service or to dig out the wellies, I decided to stay indoors, with waves of storms bowling along our valley, and finish reading "The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks" by Rebecca Skloot. A few weeks ago, after I'd recorded an episode of Radio 4's hugely enjoyable programme A Good Read, the producer gave me his copy of the book, which was chosen by the TV financial advisor Alvin Hall as his favourite read. If you'd like to know more about this fascinating and moving book and its author, then click on the title link above.

The books in today's photo are also copies I was fortunate to pick up from work after Woman's Hour had finished with them. I'd read, and very much enjoyed, Canadian author Mary Lawson's "The Other Side of the Bridge" a couple of years ago. It was chosen for our book club, which meets roughly every six weeks and includes myself and six other local ladies. As that was on Kindle, it's nice to now have a paper copy to keep. It was longlisted for the Booker Prize, and I think it should have been shortlisted because it's beautifully written. It was only Mary Lawson's second novel, "Crow Lake" being her debut and "Road Ends" her latest. I haven't read either of those yet, and am looking forward to being transported once again to the wide landscapes of Northern Ontario on my daily commute.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.