Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Bertha

Today we got the remnants of Hurricane Bertha in the UK. We had heavy driving rain most of the morning and early afternoon, and even though the sun came out later, the winds have been fierce. It seemed quite bizarre after all the good weather we've been having in recent weeks.

Today I visited with some friends who are back in the UK for a few weeks - visiting from their home in Malawi. I joined them at their church this morning and was very surprised to bump into another very good friend of mine who was also visiting from the Newcastle area! We were both quite shocked and delighted to see each other! I was even more surprised because she had crossed my mind during the service. I am looking forward to a longer visit over coffee tomorrow.

After church I was invited to join my friends for a very delicious home-cooked Sunday lunch with some of their family. After another pounding of rain, the sun finally came out just long enough for me to go exploring in their garden. I decided to call this robin 'Bertha' after the storm we experienced today. She didn't seem to mind being out there too much!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.