My topsy-turvy life

By Rathmandu

The show that definitely is

I discovered today just how much I'd hate it if I lived in a proper tourist destination.
This weekend is the Shrewsbury Flower Show, apparently themed around the 1914 "show that never was". I had to pop into town to get a present for Little Bro's birthday and being a nice day I decided to walk. Not only was the main car park closed but seemingly when the flower show's on you're not even allowed to walk through the Quarry, as though it's not a public park.
That coupled with the hordes of people walking at about half the pace of normal human beings around town and taking up as much space as humanly possible with their wheeled boxes of plants trailing out behind them was starting to annoy me a little.

How do people that live by the coast cope without killing people at least once every year?

The quarry was also boarded off so that the commoners couldn't see inside and this view from Kingsland Bridge was about the most I got to see...I should at least have been able to get a blip of Alan Titchmarsh...or some other famous gardening/flower person.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.