Chasing gold

This morning as I drove into North Shore Hospital, I could see the sky over Lake Pupuke, and I knew where I had to head on my run. Changed quickly and set off. Framed up my first photo, of the pre sunrise sky. Only to get a message on the camera that the battery was "exhausted". Not just tired; exhausted.

I coped exceptionally well. I even (for about 10 seconds) contemplated having a run and not taking even one photo. (What a change from the many years of running, never thinking of photos.) Then, I remembered that back in the department was my iPhone, which has a camera. I could get that. Proceeded back, changed from camera to phone, and headed back to the road to Lake Pupuke, where the image I had initially seen on driving in was still there, albeit with different and more muted colours.

I then went closer to the edge of the main lake, and watched the sun rise from behind the thin strip of land separating Lake Pupuke from the Hauraki Gulf. As the sun rose, the kayakers began their training. This was my pick, turned into a panorama by cropping the original.

Over the weekend two New Zealand kayakers won Gold at the World Championships. Both have done much of their training on this lake. The two women and a man seen here undoubtedly would love to emulate Lisa Carrington and Teneale Hatton. Training in such a setting must inspire the paddlers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.