Coming In For a Landing!

We are approaching the bloom!
Landing gear down, captain!
Steady as she goes!
Guide her in easy, boys!
One precision landing coming right up!
Vzzzzttt!<----the sound of a bumblebee deeply ensconced in the bright orange bloom

The jewelweed, also known as touch-me-not, provides lots of late-season blooms for our winged friends to enjoy. Most people would probably consider them to be weeds. And indeed, I used to remove them when I did the weeding in my flower beds. But the bumblebees really love them, and so this year I've let them go. Every morning at dawn, the bumblers arrive and begin their work, and the blooms are just full of bees.

Buzzing, bumbling, diving bees; those pilots of the airways.

The tune to accompany this scene: Charlie Dore, with Pilot of the Airwaves.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.