meccanica

By meccanica

swarf

[swawrf]-noun
an accumulation of fine particles of metal or abrasive cut or ground from work by a machine tool or grinder.
[Origin: 1560-70; < ON [i]svarf[/i], akin to sverfa to file, or continuing OE geswearf, gesweorf]
Dictionary.com Unabridged (v 1.1)

Some processes require material or substance to be removed in order to create some thing that, while it contains less than the sum of materials needed to create it, it is in fact regarded in such a way as to give it more value. Less is more, sometimes, more or less.

As moments of my life grind away at me and the swarf falls to the floor, am I becoming more, or merely dwindling away? Do the precedents set by my ancestors - slow deterioration, fading away - do they determine my fate?

I bloody well hope not.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.