Where beer grows on trees

After our exhausting weekend we enjoyed a really good night's sleep last night. We got into bed just after 7pm and must have nodded off within twenty minutes: I certainly didn't hear much of the Bill Nighy play that I hoped to listen to on Radio 4.

I bounced out of bed again at 06:00am this morning, feeling fantastic. Mr hazelh snoozed on until 09:00am. He thus completed over a half marathon sleep with his 14 hour snooze effort. (I would have joined him, but have so much work to do, so just got up and got on with it. I managed to clear my email, write a reference and an award nomination, fill in some complicated documentation to get my expenses back from my most recent trip to Sweden, mark a dissertation, and start correcting a journal article for resubmission.)

We saw two Fringe shows today: Under Milk Wood performed by Guy Masterton first, and then Circa: Beyond. Both were excellent, but in completely different ways.

Masterton was on stage for an hour and forty-five minutes, playing all the parts. How he could remember it all, I have no idea. He told us at the end that he hasn't performed the show for 18 months. Had he not revealed this I would have just assumed that he worked on his lines and moves every day.

The trip to Circa: Beyond was a treat from our friend J, and what a treat it was! For Guy Masterton's show we were audience members, mainly using our ears to appreciate the performance. In contrast at Circa: Beyond we were spectators, amazed at the feats of agility and strength of the acrobats on stage.

I blipped this interesting fruit in St Andrew Square on the way home from the second show.

Exercise today: Fringe trotting - about an hour and a half of walking in total.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.