If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Small Copper (Lycaena phlaeas)

As I seem to be frequently saying these days life is hectic. So I was wandering round the garden looking for blips and decided on butterflies on the Buddleia.

There is at least one person out there who is thinking "that's not a Buddleia" (yes I mean you Tiki). I know it isn't a Buddleia its a Coreopsis "Sun Ray". The reason you have got this shot and not the Red Admirals/Peacocks.Small Tortoiseshells on the Buddleia is that this is the first Small Copper I have seen in the garden. Having been good enough to visit and pose nicely for me I felt it deserved recognition.

Small Copper are a fairly common species found throughout much of the UK and August is the peak flight period so I shouldn't really be surprised at finding one in the garden. They can be seen flying from May to October.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.