AnneILM60

By AnneILM60

Just dropped in

I began my day by taking my car for it's 6 month Auto Butler reapplication. My car is still looking mighty fine for a 2008 model if I do say so myself!

When I got home, I noticed that my brother's step-son, was next door pruning the palm trees. Joey is a landscaper. I went over to see what all he was up to and he was going to be clearing out the palm seedlings that had come up and since I had successfully transplanted one into a pot before . . . So I came back home with two palm tree seedlings that I planted in pots on my back porch.

My husband and I have often been asked why we live where we live when we have had the opportunity to live elsewhere. Today is an example of why we live here.

Since I was already hot, sweaty and dirty from planting the palm tree seedlings, I decided it was as good a time as any to clean all the suckers off the crepe myrtles. It hadn't been done for a while so there was a lot to do. I took the trash can and started at the back and worked my way to the front. I was 3 bushes away from the road when my legs decided that they weren't going to work anymore! I then sat down on the edge of the driveway to cool down. While sitting there cooling off a car went past, turned around and came back and turned into my driveway. A woman I did not know, got out of the car and asked if I was okay. Turns out this woman is friends with Alene Nobles who's husband worked with Kent before he retired. She knew from Alene that I was not 'well' and so just had to check on me!

Kent has had the chance for better positions and more money, but it would mean moving to Raleigh or Charlotte. Because of the support systems we have here, Kent has declined these offers. As he said today - No money can buy support like that!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.