Ol' blue eyes

Emerald damselflies Lestes sponsa are so dainty, and the males do have the most gorgeous blue eyes!

I finally finished my report and e-mailed it to the client, so, as the sun was shining went for a gentle potter round Castor Hanglands. There were lots of dragonflies and butterflies around, including the tattiest silver-washed fritillary I've ever seen, and a brand spanking new brimstone and red admiral.

There were a couple of sharpish showers while I was out, but luckily they didn't last long and I found dense trees to shelter under. It was nothing to the huge thunderstorm we had this afternoon, with a lightning strike not very far away. Fortunately the rain was fairly vertical, as Alex had just put a second coat of paint on the front door, and we couldn't close it for six hours!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.