Bekaboo

By bekaboo

Tourist

Day 573 - the day I went to London for work. Once the business was done I decided not to rush back and to spend a bit of time exploring my old haunts and hunt for what still remains at close of play an elusive top for the wedding of the year.

As I sat in a window seat and ate a much needed late lunch it occurred to me as I sat and listened to an older American couple admiring the 'quaintness' of an old boozer opposite, that this city doesn't feel as familiar as it once used to and that, like them I am a tourist now.

Since I've been bringing the boy down a couple of times a year I've experienced more of what London has to offer than I did the whole time I lived here. I may still know the handy cut throughs that mean you can walk pretty much everywhere in the centre rather than take the Tube unnecessarily, but these days I tend to really look my surroundings as I walk. I was admiring them that much I forgot to take some blip inspiration until I ended up at Covent Garden briefly, so not the best shot I could have taken but it'll do!

Also two rather random things happened.

1/ I randomly and literally bumped into Dynamo having his photo taken with a fan. Why are all 'famous' people really tiny? Well the ones I've seen anyway. The poor bloke clearly wanted to be incognito and scarpered hood up as fast as he could, why he didn't just vanish into thin air like one of his magic tricks?

2/ I randomly bumped into a old school friend and her hubby down from Sheffield who I'd not seen since I was about 17 or 18. Small world!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.