No logic

It seems strange to see a colourful mural, presumably linked to the World Cup, on a footbridge at Carlisle Railway Station. I thought a more appropriate mural would be of Hadrian's Wall or the Lake District.

It seems even stranger to me that in spite of travelling the same route and often at a similar time many times this year the cheapest 'advance saver' ticket was to change at Carlisle today instead of Preston as normal. On Thursday I change at Preston on my return and next week the change is at Manchester. Frequently I get the same trains but it can be more expensive to change sometimes at an earlier station and sometimes later. I can see no logic in that. Nor is it logical to find that First Class is sometimes cheaper than Standard Class when buying advance tickets. Even buying separate tickets for two parts of the journey can be cheaper than one for the whole journey. It's illogical.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.