Peek-a-Boo

When my blip career was young I used to shoot pictures of our dear cat, Sophie. We love her muchly but she does have her funny little ways. She disapproves of the ABC television weather reports and at one stage refused to remain in the TV room whenever they were on. She also frowns on cameras and storms off in high dudgeon at the prospect of any further blip attempts by me. Anyway she was sitting on my lap at the desk in semi darkness and it occurred to me I should take a picture of her - heaven only knows why.

She watched suspiciously as I slowly and laboriously (like pouring nitro glycerine into a bottle) set my camera up with one hand while gently stroking her with the other. To cut a long story short, I got off three frames - of which the one above was the first. I need for you to know that I don't regard the image as being anything other than of marginal quality. The point is that, given the moves for departure that immediately began as the camera reached my eye, the injuries which my leg sustained as she began to leap toward the door, the ridiculous shutter speed I needed in the first place and my three fingered grasp upon the OMD .... the fact that ANY part of the subject was even remotely sharp OR WITHIN THE FRAME AT ALL is a major miracle. I simply had to show you the evidence.

Anyway, Sophie is talking to me again and my thigh bandages can probably come off toward the end of the week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.