Calne 1659 hr

Whenever I go out with only one lens, it's always the wrong one. On this occasion I had only my 50-200 mm (75-300 mm equivalent) zoom with which to capture the popular floral displays in the town centre, but found whenever I put the viewfinder to my eye that I wanted to zoom out far further than was possible, and so capturing the effect I was after was more challenging than it needed to be. This shot does give a sense of the proliferation of the displays, and was taken beside the library near to the spot where the redirected river Marden reappears from under the road.

L.
12.8.2014 (1001)
Having got closer to catching up with myself, I'm going to be off the radar for the next five days while I'm away, and will have a ten day backlog when I get back.

Blip #1357
Consecutive Blip #219
Day #1596

Alternatives:
Town Garden Steps
Fay's Bistro
River Marden
Pamplemousse

Lens: Pentax 50-200 mm

Calne series

Lozarhythm Of The Day #590:
John Lee Hooker - Blues Before Sunrise (1961)
John Lee Hooker recorded extensively with Motown's Funk Brothers while he was contracted to Vee-Jay in Chicago. Berry Gordy disapproved of his musicians moonlighting on other labels so these sessions, held in Chicago IL and not Detroit MI, were probably not disclosed to him. It is thought that the Andantes and/or the Vandellas also appeared on some of these tracks. It is fascinating to hear James Jamerson, Benny Benjamin, Joe Hunter, Hank Crosby, Andrew Terry and other Motown names playing the blues. This track comes from the album Burnin', which arrived in the post on this day and was played, along with a companion album on the same CD, Plays & Sings The Blues.

One year ago: Headstone #2

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.