An Unkindness of Ravens

By Nevermore

You great galah...

Just practising my strine; after 17 years here, I am still occasionally caught out by phrases I haven't heard before – not to do with galahs mind you, but, for example, a friend said recently that someone was a "ring in" at a party and I was a bit stumped by what she meant. It is: "a person or thing that is not normally a member of a particular group; outsider (Australian & New Zealand, informal)".

This galah (rose-breasted cockatoo) came visiting the deck this morning. I don't think I have blipped a galah before, as they are usually ground feeders and always fly off when I approach them. I have never seen one on my deck before either, though there are often two or four feeding on the grass in my garden.

Taken through the kitchen window.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.