Expressing Myself With Young Classical Musicians

As an artist.... I got side-lined tonight by two gentlemen in uniform for taking their photograph. I can say was a rather comical discussion from my point of view and I was curious to see what the outcome would be without getting too far over my head. I know the basic rules for photography in Italy and do my most to respect them. The one that always interests me is the reluctance of the men in uniform to have their picture taken in what ever circumstance. As far as the men never asked me to cancel the photograph from my camera after our discussion, I feel that I am the rightful owner of it and given my creative interpretation of life around me and my interest as an artist to make my creative imprint.

I turned to take the photo of the officers as they were finishing talking to the young street muscians. I turned again and continued on my way.

Any error in the general interpretation of the following discussion is not in any intent to disrespect the officers...

"heh"
Wasn't much of a hey and could have been anybody. I kept walking.
Several passes later, "heh! stop."
Me, "yes?"
Them, "did you take a picture?"
Me, "yes, did I do something wrong?"
Them, "not yet, are you on vacation?"
Me, "yes, did I do something wrong?"
Them, "you turned your back on us as if hiding something. Please show your documents"
Me, "I took a picture in public, did I do something wrong?"
Them, "not unless your picture is published in the San Remo newspaper tomorrow morning, please show us your documents"
Me, ...last attempt... "I am an amateur photographer taking pictures of what interests me. What did I do wrong?" I know (at least I believe) that they have the right to ask my identity anywhere and anytime.... now I am going to go and study this...
Them, "It can happen that pictures be misinterpretted and in that case, yes. You can show us your documents here so that we know who took the photo of us or come into the station with us to explain yourself."
Me, at this time, I am still not feeling any guilt and they can have my ID card and note that I took a photo.... Some more mild banter and I go on my way to pick up the ice cream for the family - 5 minutes later than planned.

I took the same route home and got paid the compliment to pass them by again. I held my camera up in a faint to invoke a yes or no reaction. The older wiser one said, "a photo" with a slight smile. I returned with a big smile and kept walking with the ice cream in the other hand. The young classical musicians were still playing - and most beautifully too!

I had some other very nice pictures today, but this one wins for the story. Maybe some more later on Flickr.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.