Moving Into The Unknown

By dvdlodi

Pinot Noir

The grape clusters are ripening in the vineyards. These Pinot Noir grapes are the signature grape here in Oregon, although there are many varieties that are grown. I recently learned that vineyard managers around the state are having to cut up to 1/3 of the clusters from vines this summer because too many are growing. If there are too many clusters, none of them will receive the proper nourishment for growth, so the vineyard managers drop clusters, thereby ensuring the ones that remain have all of the nutrient resources they need to become the best grapes possible. I find this strategy to be useful for me as well. If I spread myself too thin with work, then I won't be able to focus on doing anything really well. The same principles that lead to mediocre grapes, and ultimately uninspired wines, leads to mediocre productivity and uninspired results in me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.