Ursula von Rydingsvard at YSP

We took friends to the Yorkshire Sculpture Park yesterday (my first visit for probably a year). We began with our usual visit to the James Turrell Deer Shelter where the sky was not at its most effective (too bright) and then visited the chapel to see the Al Weiwei chairs (which for some reason we were not supposed to photograph) followed by a circular visit round the park. Quite a few of the sculptures had gone or been moved since my last visit. Finally we made our way to the Underground Gallery to see the work of American sculptor Ursula von Rydingsvard. Having viewed some of her work on the YSP website I wasn't sure I was going to like her work and I'm not too keen on the massive tree like shapes of some of her more major sculptures but love the detail and textural effects she achieves. There was mush of her work in the Underground Gallery that I was wowed by - the textile drawings and the sculptures based on artefacts seen in the Polish countryside. I need to go back to spend a bit more time there.

One lovely part of the afternoon was seeing someone I used to work with in Wakefield - she was there showing her grandaughter the exhibition.

Finally exhausted we never did make it to The Hepworth gallery in Wakefield (another time).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.