A Dog's Dinner

By G

Battery joy!

Ok I know its just an old film camera but today was a bit of a breakthrough day.

My beloved Olympus OM1, given as a gift from Beryl thirty four years ago, was designed to use mercury batteries to power the light meter abut theyre no longer available, so I've been using a zinc air battery which cost around £7.00 and seems to last about a week.

That may be an exaggeration but every time I picked up my camera it seemed to be powerless.

Stick with me here I know its boring........anyway after a bit of research I found you could get a little device which let you use really cheap hearing aid batteries and lowered the voltage to the required 1.37V instead of the normal 1.55V.

A small step for man but a giant leap for my photography!

Does anyone care except me.....?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.