City Boy

By kwasi

Two empty seats

Today involved another visit to the Book Festival with #1 son. This is something we share each year. He selects our events, pulling me out of my comfort zone (and often indulging it): I pay. Today we heard Alasdair Gray and then we set the world to rights over a long coffee. I saw these deckchairs and apart from finding them attractive and amusing, the truly amazing thing was that they were empty. Charlotte Square seethes with people but it has a relaxed feel to it. I met two sets of friends and saw a few celebrities. I thinkknow that many people just come in and sit in the sunshine, absorbing the atmosphere. It seems to me when I'm there that books are being read and enjoyed in vast numbers. Thevshot is cluttered but I could not change the angle or move anything. So, a shot that, for me, epitomises the pleasures of the Book Festival.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.