Skyroad

By Skyroad

Such Dreams May Come

Evening walk at Seapoint/Salthill again, down onto the damp beach, Lola drinking in all the sniffs. I noticed this lad from the road, sitting beside this graffiti, and when he turned around I asked him if he minded. He said no, not at all, but got up after a few minutes of my clicking away.

Dream last night: on the phone to one of my dead friends, Anthony, itself a rare enough event. In the way that you can know things in dreams, I knew that he was in hospital. We were talking and he cut our conversation short to ask me a question: it might have been "Do you know what day this is?" but I'm not sure. In any case, it threw me and I was immediately feeling terribly guilty that I hadn't acknowledged something. His birthday? Or was it that I hadn't acknowledged the fact that he was in a hospital bed (though this would have been relatively normal in his last years)? The connection went (or he hung up) and I couldn't manage to get through again. I think by this stage I was wandering, at a loss and perhaps actually lost, through a strange city that might have been London or might not: crowds surging past me, a sense of being somehow stranded and untethered, anxious to put something right, some lost or missed connection, some word or phrase out of place.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.