Swan family at Sellars bridge, Sharpness canal

I got my video tapes back today from Z in Oxford. She had used them to add to her material which she then edited over 24 hours into the five minute film of the Wool against Weapons action at Aldermaston on Saturday. I've added a link to it on my Saturday blip.

So I proceeded to copy the footage into my computer and was pleased to find there weren't any technical glitches in it. Tomorrow I'm meeting with Philip and Ben to discuss how we pool out video material and come up with a more comprehensive story telling of the whole process of Jaine's campaign.

Late in the afternoon I drove over to Gloucester to get some fresh tofu stocks so that I could cook some again this evening, as I had some left over vegetables in coconut milk which I'd prepared last night. I decided I would pop down to the Sharpness canal at Sellars bridge, just on the edge of the city, and see what I could find when wandering along the canal bank. I met a few people including the very friendly bridge operator (it is a swing bridge) who told me about the birds that frequent the area. No kingfishers sadly. No-one seems to have seen them this year.

But he did describe the movements of this family of swans that he has watched from his bridge cabin ever since the cygnets were born many months ago now. I followed them along the canal for a few hundred yards and when they met this pool of light and the lovely colourful reflections I guessed I would be blipping them. I am a sucker for certain of the Impressionist painters and these patterns and colours suggested what they might have seen and tried to record.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.