Noshi's World

By Noshi

Irobbed in Rio- now only iPhone pictures

Picture of "police station" in Santa Teresa.

And it happened in Brazil.

Getting my professional camera stolen at one point during my travels was inevitable. Luck has it that it happened on my 3rd day into a 2 week vacation. My baby snatched right out of my hand. Of course I ran behind the guy till my senses kicked in: "he may have a gun. Don't get shot in Brazil." After a short pursuit he jumped into a car.

After that, just like any corrupt 3rd world country, we sat in the police station for hours. After talking to 3-4 different types of police: local Santa Teresa, then the military police and finally the tourist police (showing up two hours later)- I got nothing. A truck driver even gave the police the license plate number. But I am sure that information was never relayed when our case bounced from one set of police to the next. 3hrs of sitting around. The guy probably sold it and went on a nice shopping spree by the time the "right type" of police showed up and scratched my hotel info on a piece of paper and asked me for my last name over and over again. At the end of it all they told us that their system was down so we couldn't even get any police report. Didn't care at that point.

As our experience in Morocco- the police was definitely in on it. Not sad about the loss of my camera. Just sad that I have to take pictures with my iPhone the rest of the trip. Unless I drop it in iguazu falls tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.