wander, stumble, wonder

By imo_weg

Shadowy

*insert shadowy music here*

It's nice when you find yourself re-reading a book for bookclub, and it's a little like reading it new. I remember plot points, but not the details, and I'm enjoying being back in the dusty bookshops of mid-20th century Spain.



This evening I went to the Red Cross Oration, given by the excellent Professor Tim McCormack on International Humanitarian Law in Australia. Today marks 100 years since the Australian Red Cross was established, so his talk covered the history of its IHL work since Henri Dunant set eyes on the aftermath of the Battle of Solferino 150 years ago. He talked about the staggering numbers of donations given in the early days, both financial and in goods. I was left feeling sad for the loss of that community spirit that ran through Australia then, and wondering how much it relates to the necessity of two-income houses and our subsequent busy busy lives. Is it lost forever, or will we swing back around? Perhaps we are already. I'll do my bit, and if you do yours, and you do yours, we might be ok.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.