secret garden

By freespiral

Odyssey

I felt as though I'd done a day's work by 11am this morning. I hurtled into Bantry at the crack of dawn (almost) to get a print mounted, a commission in fact, for someone's birthday- yes, I should have done this some time ago but got distracted. Whilst waiting for this to be sorted, I had a coffee; retrieved my reading specs which I had inadverdently left in the bank yesterday (too many distraction in this self service banking lark, but how kind that somone had handed them in and there they were waiting for me at reception); wandered down to admire this sculpture; collected the print, delivered the print (you're the best girl on the planet) and handed the car over to Himself who has since departed for Cork.

The sculpture: called Odyssey and the work of Barry Linnane. It's to be found at the end of the old railway pier which looks out across Bantry Bay and refers to the illusive and wild Beauty of West Cork. The shape is of a traditional boat and it is the most beautiful verdigris colour and I love the sinuous shapes of the metal coils. Very striking.

Under Milk Wood was excellent last night. Three actors ( a woman and two men) romped through the whole thing in 80 minutes in a dazzling and seamless display. The problem of accents was sorted by having a multitude of different ones which worked really well. How they remembered everything with hardly a breath between lines I don't know. And what a great piece of writing it is. I must read it afresh.

Thanks so much for the nice comments on yesterday's heron, much appreciated.

The sun has come out, time for a swim.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.