See it, Snap it, Share it

By pplnani

Green Shield Bug

............I wonder if he gives out stamps ;-))))

Younger blippers out there probably won't have a clue what I'm on about, a quick explanation for them....... Eons ago when I was a little girl I used to sit at the table to lick and stick hundreds of 'Green Shield Stamps' into collecting books for my mum. Lots of stores and shops would give you reams of stamps when you bought something, which had to be stuck into books. When you had filled enough books you could exchange them for goods, you had to have loads of full books even for something really cheap, so it wasn't really a great deal but everybody seemed to collect them. Todays equivalent would be a loyalty card.
Anyone over a certain age will know exactly what I mean, I'm sure most of you will have some memory of them ;-))

Really changeable weather again, so I didn't venture further than the garden for fear of getting soaked. I liked this little chap as he looked so different from shield bugs that I have seen before, it looks almost like there are some developing wings on his back........ do shield bugs grow wings? or have I got my identification completely wrong? I'm happy to be educated, if you know better :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.