Aly

By AlyB

Corner of the ceiling

A few years ago when visiting New York City there was an art gallery featuring an artist that painted pictures of the upper corners of different ceilings. He painted all different kinds of corners with all different types of lights and colors. I didn't think it was very interesting at first, but the more I looked at them the more they turned abstract. When I left I kept thinking about all the different shadows and the crazy ways it made my eyes see the paintings.

Today I decided to imitate the paintings that I saw, only I wanted to do it using my photography. When I took this photo and opened it up on my computer, my eyes couldn't focus on what I was looking at. The paint color on my wall and ceiling are perfect for this corner image I was trying to imitate. My eyes see it as a three dimensional box an then my eyes will adjust and see it as the corner of my ceiling. I hope everyone else can get this effect.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.