Thistle Down

By Ethel

Monarch

O ice-blue house,
With gables reaching wide.
Storms have beat upon you,
Standing there...on Sunnyside.

So absolute in your design,
No varying from the need.
In early years...when wagons came,
You was the first to lead.

Standing there through many years,
With sturdy, up-right walls.
Listening to the winds pass-by,
And enclosed by infant squalls.

From use...drafts does become thee,
There's noise in the attic.
Sometimes in the dead of night,
I vow...you most rat-ic.

To me...O ice blue-house,
You've been a haven to my fate.
And until your tumbling years,
Descend...I'll stand and wait.

And watch you in your slow decent,
For you are a monarch of the past.
And because you hold...my memories,
I will love you...to the last.

E.P. 1908 - 1989

This is a love poem to Ethel's home on Sunnyside Street in Ammon, Idaho. It was colored ice blue. It is no longer standing. I have fond memories of it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.