Mostly Six Five Oh

By nhc

Visitor: Excuse me, can you tell me where Portlandia is?
Me: See the blue tile on the building over there? Look up above the tree line, she's there. The leaves are hiding her a little bit this time of year.*

I was standing outside the PacWest Center on SW 5th opposite City Hall when I had this conversation, Portlandia was completely obscured by trees from that angle. The man searching for Portlandia was in a terrible hurry, once I'd pointed out where he should stand to see her he sprinted off down the block toward the Standard Plaza which gives the best view from across the street, from where I took this picture later on. Lots of tour groups around downtown today, including one on Segways. I've seen tours on Segways in other cities too, they seem pretty popular.

I know I've blipped Portlandia several times before but it's been a while. For those who haven't seen those old blips here's some info on the statue.

*It actually looks like they've trimmed the trees quite a bit. I think the guy had been circling the building bewildered, not expecting to have to look UP! It is an unusual spot to have the statue but I like it.

79ºF/26ºC

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.