Scribbler

By scribbler

Roll On, Columbia

Looking south toward Portland across the Columbia River from Beaches Restaurant in Vancouver, Washington.

Quite a good day, considering. The biopsy results won't be in for a week. I did yoga breathing and got the nurse to hold my hand. The prayers helped a lot!

Beaches used to be my favorite restaurant when I lived in Vancouver. I moved away ten years ago, but when I showed up today, a bit wrung out from my medical procedure, I was shown to the best window table and given a specially printed Specials menu that said, "Our VIP Long Lost Friend Scribbler... We Miss you!" Hugs from Allie the manager, hugs from Mark the owner, and greetings from several people who still work there, including Yvette who remembers my birthday every year. All in all, a royal welcome. The Sonora Ancho salad was better than ever, and when it was time for the check I found out that I had been treated to lunch!

Beaches is right on the Columbia River, one of the great rivers of the world. It forms the border between Oregon and Washington State, with Portland on the south and Vancouver on the north. (Not that Vancouver. The famous one is in Canada.) There's a trail beside the river from Beaches to the I-5 Interstate Bridge crossing. I have walked there many times on beautiful days like today. It was great to be there again.

Roll on, Columbia, roll on,
Roll on, Columbia, roll on.
Your power is turning our darkness to dawn
So roll on, Columbia, roll on.

— written by Woody Guthrie when he worked on the Bonneville Dam. The video includes many scenes along the Columbia River Gorge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.