AmandaNaylor

By AmandaNaylor

Steel city ...

With summer break and our recent holidays, I haven't been going into NY much lately. I went in tonight for a 'Masters of Photography' class and got a great overview of some of the pioneering and influential photographers over the last century. Very interesting to hear how some of the photographers started out, and the divergent paths they took on their way to international acclaim. Loved the story of the very confident Stephen Shore and how at aged 14 he had such belief in his skills that he presented his photos to MoMA. The photography curator immediately bought 3!

Coming out of Grand Central Terminal at rush hour on a Friday night is intoxicating ... the volume of people, the hustle, noise and energy is intense. I have missed it so much and am looking forward to my children going back to school so I can spend more time here exploring this amazing city.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.