Tranquility

While it was still barely daylight down here the mountains were already basking in the sunshine. We have had a lovely day, warm and relatively calm.

Birds

The chaffinch has added his loud territorial song to the rest- blackbird, song thrush, starlings, dunnock, magpies, bellbird and waxeye. Over the back fence a skylark trills and masked lapwings (spurred plover) shriek and cackle. My favourite song is of the waxeye. He has been marking his territory, that includes the honey water and the Coprosma berry bush, all winter. It’s a pretty song, fairly quiet, but full of variety and often melodic.

Edit: Flying reminded me of the grey warbler- how could I forget him? I love his sweet, wavery song. I also forgot the chatterers, the little flock of house sparrows and the solitary fantail.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.