Trampolene

A busy day of been out and about.

Work and then swimming followed by Finding Vivian Maier at Filmhouse. A pretty remarkable story.

The rest of My Lot were out elsewhere which freed me up for a couple of fringe shows courtesy of the half-price hut. Funny For A Grrrl (in a yurt, no less!) and Naked In Alaska were both good without being brilliant. A case of 'liked, but didn't love' although there was quite a barnstorming performance in the latter, and everyone got a hug on the way out...

Met up with just sitting for a quick pint in The Oxford before the evening's main entertainment, namely Julian Cope at the book festival. Blimey, he was good. I think the best way to sum up his whole outlook, the event and the book he was there to talk about can be narrowed down to something he said near the end when he was talking about the use of humour. To paraphrase the man himself, "I may look like a cartoon, but behind the cartoon there's real depth". Surprisingly lucid and sensible in the best posssibly bonkers kind of way. And very, very funny.

Quick trip next door to the Spiegeltent for a drink and to catch the end of the Nasty Little Press Unbound event and that was us for the night. Same again tomorrow? Best had...

Back to Saint Julian, I've heard plenty of his records over the years but when I look at my shelves I only actually own one of them, and a little 45rpm single at that. This 7".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.