BangleDarling

By BangleDarling

Four funerals and a wedding

After a year clouded and fogged with sadness, this day, threaded with gold, picked out with sunlight, finally dawned. Mollers three had the hotel pool to ourselves in the morning, and for a moment it was like we were back in the womb, all of us together, wishing the same happiness to the butterfly couple upstairs. A glorious reunion with my other nephew, not seen in 20 years, heralded a heart-filled and felt ceremony. My sister and I burst into tears at the sight of the beautiful bride and shared a "Phew!" at her confident "Yes!" On the roof terrace, I caught this pic of my mum with all of her grandsons, together for the first time ever. Chris usually makes everyone look like an Oompah Loompah, and my ma does look little by his side, but I like how the other two, with the traditional male Biggins build, are not dwarfed in the slightest. It was fun to see work folk in suits and ties for once, and when the dancing started, there were ties and kilts flying in the air as manly hips got into the groove. There is something symbolic about getting to dance at someone's wedding - maybe it's because you're stamping your approval of their love and their future. On Friday, the Bigginses unlaced their boots of lead and slipped into some very sparkly dancing shoes. I hope we'll be keeping them on for a while...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.