Packwood House

I listened to the weather forecast (which was decidedly mixed) and decided to go to Packwood House, a National Trust property in Warwickshire. I wanted to beat any crowds, and to catch the sunshine before it vanished.

It was perfect.

A very welcoming National Trust team - only one or two visitors at that early hour - and ever-changing sunlight.

The gardens are lush and magnificent. The colours, particularly the rich oranges and dark reds and the blues and purples are overwhelmingly beautiful. The healthy and untamed-looking growth, that is scruffy at home, is just over the top, blowsy and amazing when it's cherished professionally.

I've usually visited with friends so it was novel for me just to wander round, pause as the clouds obscured the sun and then let it re-emerge. No worries that friends would get bored as I experimented with different camera settings, focus, speed etc.

The famous yew trees were stunning from a range of angles, and in different sunlight and clouds.

There was one brazen Small Tortoiseshell which posed variously on different plants. There were statues, waterlilies, grasses - even a Hansel and Gretel cottage. You name it. A true amateur photographer's paradise.

Sometimes I think Warwickshire is England's most beautiful county - but then when I compare it to Staffordshire, I'm not so sure.

I had a good choice of blips today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.