Scotts Journey

By Scottishwoody

Top of the tower!

OK, so I haven't posted on here in, well, forever, but today was different.

I live in Fife, I work in Edinburgh, therefore I cross the Forth Road Bridge almost every day. It still fascinates me, I love it, I love the rail bridge, and I'm excited about the Queensferry Crossing.

Today I was one of only 2014 members of the general public allowed to visit the top of the bridge! Myself, my partner, and 22 others met in the visitor centre for a safety induction, then split into two groups. Our group headed over to the North Tower, where my partner and I were the first to get in to the smallest lift you've ever seen (there was three of us in there, and it was a tight squeeze), followed by a 40ft vertical ladder climb. Once at the top of the ladder you come out the hatch and your first view is just breathtaking, I bet there wasn't one of us who didn't go 'wow'.

We were up there for maybe an hour, I could have stayed up there all day. Despite the strong wind, gusting up to 49mph (apparently at 50mph they need to call it off, so today certainly was a thrill ride!)

Once in a lifetime experience.

Anyone who ever uploaded a photo to social media of themselves in a club, sticking out their tongue, and a drink in their hand with the comment '#YOLO' ... nope, that ain't yolo ... THIS IS YOLO!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.