Shy Goldfish

The Head Gardener's sore back had eased up enough for me to load him into my car and drive him to a garden centre for coffee and a cream scone (2 for the price of 1 and the coffee is free as we're members of their gardening club). I know how to treat an invalid:-)

As we were there, I just happened to pop a plant or four into a trolley:-) Three are Alpines to fill gaps in my new rockery and one is a chrysanthemum ball in a pot for outside the front door. We also toyed with the idea of getting some goldfish for the garden pond, but decided against it. If the heron didn't get them, the visiting cats might! These ones seemed very shy as they hid under the bushes.

When we got home, I planted the Alpines right away and had just finished as it started to rain. That will save me watering them in, I thought, but then the rain stopped. So I filled up the watering can and gave them a good soaking - just as the heavens opened again!! Hope they don't drown:-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.