live2theday

By live2theday

wow what an adventure


So I had a bit of an adventure last night to get this blip, ok first I thought right i'm going to keep it simple and just get some photos without too much effort boy was I wrong...

The adventure goes, I headed out my front door all kitted up for some night time shooting, and headed towards the art school as they have some cool sculptures which I thought would be pretty nice in the night light.
As the story goes I got distracted and decided to take some photos on top of this steel girder precariously placed above the "water of leith" a river that runs through the university campus, and some of town, anyways I ended tight rope walking that steel girder, as you do. I tried in vain to take photos on top of that girder, so I thought right i'm going try something different and looked up at the old derelict "Gregg's" coffee building and thought why not?

So I found an old ladder leading up the side of the building and started to scale the building like spiderman (spiderman spiderman da da da... you know the song) that's where I took this photo, at first I wasn't happy with the photo so decided to keep exploring this old derelict building, so I climbed up over the 4th storey up to the top of the roof. Now right on top of this old building is this other tower that is another two storey's high, it's a very prominent feature of this building, and thus I thought this is my tiny "Everest" and started to climb, by now I'm 6 storeys high, clutching on to a rusted old ladder on the side of an old bulding trying to take photos, and they didn't turn out like I wanted either ha ha.

So I climbed down, and when I got back to that ladder I heard this "splish splash" and looked back at the "water of leith" and what do I see? A 60cm long salmon trying to swim up water that just covered it's top fin! It struggled in vain trying to make it up this shallow running water, but luckily for me it was going slow enough to take photos of, I looked at the photos on my camera and even they didn't turn out like I wanted, so I thought right lets get closer to this salmon and take photos of his accomplishment.

By now I'm back on the road beside the "water of leith", I climbed over the edge of the 5 metre high bank and hang down (word of advice, when you are 1.8 metres tall and you hanging by the whites of your knuckles off a ledge and the ground is another 3 metres away don't drop down when you are in barefeet) so I dropped down clutching my camera whilst in the air and landed heavily on my barefeet OUCH!! I thought this salmon is a pretty lucky salmon to gets it's photo taken after what I just did, so I snapped away a couple times, but the neanderthal part of my brain thought let's try and tickle him and catch him to take a photo?? He heard me a mile away and shot down the river. Lucky... Well I turn around and what do I see?? a ladder set into the concrete up the side of the bank, that salmon probably saw that ladder and saw my little drop and thought this guy is an idiot ha ha.
Well the moral of the story is sometimes the simple things make the best photos, but it's the adventure along the way that's the fun part.
I'm liking this blip thing...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.