Tennis Court of my Youth

It was on this court in Tamworth, New Hampshire, that I learned to play tennis, probably starting around age 10. We spent summers here, and I had plenty of time to play. The court is at the Red House, which you see in the background. The nearest two gables (peaked roofs) are new additions; they hide the original house, which was relatively modest--fortunately much of it has been preserved. The house still has a wonderful view of the Sandwich Range--out of sight in this image.

My Aunt Mary (of fond memory), my mother's sister, was the mistress of the house; I played her regularly, with the promise of a five dollar prize when I beat her. I eventually did and won the 5 dollars--I honestly don't remember how old I was. From about age 16 I played regularly in the local adult tournament--and around age 18 I actually won it, against a slight younger opponent. As best I remember, it was on this very court. In those days it was a sandy color, much less flashy, but it served us very well. One time in the adult doubles tournament I partnered with my cousin John H. Finley Jr., a very eminent scholar and Master of Eliot House at Harvard (I don't think we progressed very far, but he was a wonderful supporter).

Here's a link to one of my many blips of our Tamworth sojourns in recent years. There'll be others during our current stay; as always, it's full of nostalgia.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.