It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

ITERA Day 0.5: Travelling by Bus Day

It was a transition day, with everyone travelling from Cardiff to Caernarfon. It was a non-stop morning of treasure hunting, ensuring I had all the kit needed for the transition areas I had been assigned to. Every second was filled with lifting, carrying, being occasionally bossy, asking and answering millions of questions. It was a relief to get on the bus at 13:00.

This was my first chance to really catch up with Rosemary and her team. We chatted about stuff, with me being very careful not to let any info slip that could give then a slight advantage. I knew Paul in her team, have met Jon once or twice and Sam was new to me. The dynamic was good. We watched a few films of previous adventure races.....with film makers continually going on about how extreme they were. Then there was a film about 2 guys walking to the South Pole and being luck to survive. Ha.....perfect to relax the teams.

We reached Caernarfon just after 18:00 and decided to head for dinner. Paul and Jon helped me pitch my tent first (they were staying in a Hotel), in just over 2 minutes! It was off to the pub, but it would be an hour before they could serve us.....too late for me as I had a briefing at 8pm. I said my goodbye's and headed back to the camp sight....just managing to get a bag of chips on the way! Not an ideal dinner again.

Back for the briefing, met Mark who I was running a transition team with, did a final bit of prep and then it was off to bed for a well earned sleep.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.