OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

Brough of Birsay

I went up to the Brough of Birsay to try and relocate a stone I photographed recently upon which there was what I thought might be a fossil. I couldn't find it, though. Hardly surprising, there are a lot of rocks there. Many were covered in spume whipped up by the strong northeasterly winds. It was sunny at times but very sharp showers were blowing through. I walked to the village and up onto Marwick Head. The guillemots, razorbills, kittiwakes and puffins are all gone for the season now. I carried on to Marwick where the little bus picked me up. If anyone is good at fossils, look at the photo on my flickr site, or just see some other shots from today.. It may well be that the 'fossil' is just a sort of off-set print of a plant on the stone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.